Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Joseph Dempsey

Joseph Dempsey, 27 from Ireland (male)
Email: click here
Network: New Zealand
Present Country: Australia
Join Date: February 13, 2017
Last Updated: January 4, 2018
Last Signed In: April 18, 2018

Companion Ad:
Hi, I'm currently around Masterton and travelling for the next year on my own. Looking to meet people along the way and share the trip. I just set up a van but have lots of little things to finish off along the way. Taking my time with no real plan of action. I would like to hike, run, swim or cycle as much of this country as i can. I have a new found interest in climbing and trail running to add to the long list of everything else. If you'd like to meet along the way please don't be shy and get in contact.

Next Destination(s):

Helper Description:
I am Joe (27) from Ireland and I am just finishing my adventure in New Zealand. I have spent the last year here and before that i was in Australia for 2 years.
I spent most of my time in New Zealand travelling and seeing the country as I am very much an outdoors person and love going for hikes, runs
and cycles. I like to have more an active lifestyle rather than sitting on the couch (I do like my relaxing days from time to time) and I have played a lot of
different sports but could never focus just at one to actually get really good at it.

I am a qualified Construction Studies (woodwork) and Technical Graphics teacher back home but the foundation of my experience comes from growing up on a farm where
most jobs you learn to do yourself and from a young age.

I worked in a hotel for 5 years during college as a Barman and nightport/handyman. Working behind the bar is where I really came out of my shell as I was a very
quiet teenager. Since I've started traveling I have worked on a large sheep and crop farm in Western Austrailia, a data entry job in Darwin and
renovating a house in Sydney for a year which was a great experience. This job in Sydney started through helpx and after a week lead to a full time position
during which I got to apply the theory I learned in colllege in a practical manner. I am by no means a professional trady but I like to work with my hands and
I love to learn new practical skills as I prefer to do a job myself rather than watch, or worse, pay someone else to do it for me. Most recently I worked for 4 months
as part of a construction team building orchards.

I am keen to learn more about gardening and especially about growing my own vegetables as this is something I wish to pursue when I return home. I have experience
with cutting grass, trimming bushes, planting trees and moving tones of soil but I need to improve my knowledge about all the different plants/vegetables in general.

I am a non-smoker, I'm not a neat freak but consider myself tidy and have recently been trying to became a vegetarian (dont let that put you off, I eat 99% of
everything else).

I bought myself a van which I turned into my home but now it is sadly time to say goodbye and start planning my path home.

Hope to hear from you.