Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Jiang Zhang

Jiang Zhang, 32 from China (female)
Email: click here
Network: New Zealand
Present Country: New Zealand
Join Date: December 4, 2016
Last Updated: November 14, 2017
Last Signed In: January 12, 2018

Companion Ad:
Looking for somebody to work together in Qld:)

Next Destination(s):
Nelson lakes national park region and

Helper Description:
Hi there!
This is Jiang (江). In Chinese my name means 'big river', (Have you noticed in the Chinese character there are 3 big water drops? :p ) for I was born in a town alongside Yangtze river (长江), one of the two main rivers in China, and I do feel strongly connected with rivers and water.

I have an engineering background (electronics) and now I am exploring other parts of me and new opportunities in life. I have learned too much in logical thinking and I realize it cannot help me with obstacles in life. So now I am looking for my answers in a body, emotions and feelings manner. I am regaining my strengths and find my happiness back through physical work, through simply being with people and also being in nature, not just sitting in a decent office doing some designing in computer and feeling fulfilled.

I chose to come to Australia for the renowned beautiful nature and lots of parrots. When I was around 13, I watched lots of Steve Irwin 's TV programs and now I happened to find he is Australian. It feels like find my idol back. I do feel connected with this vast land and the time here does bring me back loads of memories in my childhood, when I was sitting under an old tree watching stars in summer night breeze, when I was listening to the whispers of the reeds on a river bank, when I was kayaking in a bay full of excitement and shouting aloud..

I choose helpx volunteering work for the flexibility, less hours work per day whilst more time to delve into the local culture, and the more like 'friends' relationship between me and my hosts rather than a serious 'employer -employee ' one.

I take helpx exchange as an unwritten contract which I shall respect. It is serious in this aspect. I can work unsupervised and I find it difficult to work under supervision. And I also like to work with hosts whilst talking. I prefer to be given more flexibility in work. And I also prefer to communicate with hosts often to know each other better and make the work more satisfying. Speaking of food, I am not a fussy eater so normally I can eat everything. Meanwhile, I appreciate vegan style life. I prefer to eat with hosts so I will know the local food culture, but it is not necessary. In addition, I am a non smoker and don't drink often.

I can help you with gardening, for I like plants and soil. I have some mulching, weeding, plantation experience. If it is a bit physical demanding I am happy with it, since I can be more connected with my body and enjoy sweating and the sour in muscles. I can be very active, jump on and off and easily find interests in work!

I can also help you with general animal care. Animals, I believe, has better wisdom and better intuition than arrogant humans. I have experience working on a chook farm, collecting eggs and feed them twice a day. Dog walking is welcome. I simply love to spend time with animals and I trust them and their love.

I can help you with painting especially if it involves some extent of designing. I have some drawing and painting skills, and sense of art. I have helped one of my hosts design a road sign, with the shape of a whale and the family loves it.

I can also help you with hospitality: customer services, housekeeping, bed making, etc. I know well how to make the Aussie style bedding. I have worked in a hostel in remote Tibet and I enjoy working for tourists.

I can help you with cooking if required. I cook mainly Chinese -western mixed style food and I enjoy the magic process of making food changes by cooking. I have been a chef when I was working in the hostel in Tibet.

Last but not least, I can help you with repairing some electrical devices such as water heater and fridge. This is my major, though I may not work in this field anymore, but I can do it when required, if you have corresponding tools such as a multimeter.

Sometimes I may be bit introverted and don't want to ask about things or speak out my minds. Sometimes I may be very sensitive to others' emotions. Sometimes I may be very bold and crazy. I am still learning like a newborn, to find valuable things in my life through every tiny moments, to see the reflection of myself in other people 's eyes, to be open to all kinds of people, and to grow a great tolerance and passion within me. Every host I choose to be with (also vise versa), is important to me, for you will play a role in my searching for values and shaping my personalities.

I am currently in Auckland and going to stay here for a while then heading south. I only have a very rough travel plan and I make impromptu decisions when I see beautiful places. If you are interested, we can discuss about our timetable.