Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Heike Oertel

Heike Oertel, 31 from Germany (female)
Email: click here
Network: Canada
Present Country: Switzerland
Join Date: November 26, 2009
Last Updated: August 15, 2017
Last Signed In: September 7, 2017

Companion Ad:
I'm going to Canada in May, plan to buy a car and a touring kayak and just roadtrip from National Park to National Park. Starting in Ontario, going up the St. Lawrence River, out to Prince Edward island/Nova Scotia, Ferry across to Newfoundland and then make my way west going up to the northwest territories and Yukon before heading to B.C/Alberta for work during winter. If anybody is interested in some serious outdoor/kayaktouring adventure give me a shout.

Next Destination(s):
Hi, I'm looking for a helpx place for autumn somewhere in the "middle" of Canada while applying for paid work in winter.

Helper Description:
My "normal" career is in the hospitality/accommodation sector. Most recently I was employed at an 5* Hotel in Switzerland. Every few years I take a break from my desk/paperwork and just do something different by travelling and volunteering.

I spent two years in Australia and worked on a cattle station, in a vineyard, building stock fences, as a barmaid, cotton harvester and mulcher.
I have 14 years worth of experience with horses and the associated work.
I'm fluent in german and english.

What else can I do.. I'm a good driver (manual/automatic, left/right-hand-drive, squad bikes, tractors) I had driving training for winter conditions and know my way around snow chains. Painting/renovating (I'm very good at putting furniture together:), some woodwork (including strange things like relief carving and fledging arrows), I love to bake and cook for others.. ;-)
I'm also a outdoorsy person (in NZ I discovered kayak-touring and plan to do a lot of that in Canada) and tend to end up in some rather remote places.

I'd just looking for a break from my normal job again and do and learn different things like how to work with sled dogs, ride a motorbike or whatever else comes along.
Well that's me if it sounds interesting to you gimme a shout.