Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Aldo Besmer

Aldo Besmer, 33 from Switzerland (male)
Email: click here
Network: Australia
Present Country: Australia
Join Date: February 27, 2009
Last Updated: November 13, 2017
Last Signed In: November 13, 2017

Companion Ad:
Hi, let me know if you are interested in travelling with me, short or long-term. Let me know if you think we might get along, definitely open to the idea. It's hard to describe yourself (I mean, it's hard to trace the line between what you believe you are and what is actually true...!) but I value honesty, humour and other things that we can share in a mutual understanding. Cheers :)

Next Destination(s):
Currently in Wellington NZ from mid September, enrolling for studies in 2018 to become a teacher. It would be great to find nice people I could help out with my skills. Feel free to contact me, cheers

Helper Description:
Hi there, thanks for stopping by. After having had positive helpx experiences while travelling OZ and NZ in 2009, I've since relocated to Melbourne in 2011 where I worked in biomedical research (for 5 years) and have now decided to live in Wellington and study in 2018 to become a teacher. I am now a fully-fledged Swiss-Australian dual citizen trying to make the best of both worlds, like a bouffy cross-breed between a meticulous Swiss clerk and an Ozzie bogan. Don't worry, I'm not fixing watches with my Swiss army knife and doing burnouts on my front lawn, haha. Not just yet :) Ideally I'd like to make new friends through my interactions on helpx, overcome the host-helper barriers we'd start with. I therefore enjoy hosts that aren't too rigid, as our choices made in freedom can express our value and personal appreciation. If I find people to be kind, flexible and empathetic, it's easier for me to give more. This and a proactive communication I found helps most to build a mutual trust.

This platform has given me many positive learning experiences, it can bring people together through simple sharing of resources, be it in skills, stories, opinions, local knowledge, humour, cooking, or whatever else people like to share with one another. And although not all host-helper combinations are compatible, most of the time it's a win-win situation, especially if both sides use some empathy for each other. Hosts should be happy for the efforts of helpers and the new found social interactions, and helpers should be motivated to support hosts in their work. Sometimes hosts or helpers try to exploit what they can get out of helpx, but I hope that's a minority? So let's open up our worlds to one another and share our experiences along the way, the most valuable asset we can share is time and most of us like to spend it with others.

As a helper, I am always keen to work with wood (splitting, cutting, pruning, sawing...), it's one of my favorite jobs! I got chainsawing, tractor and quad-bike driving experience. But I'm also happy to do whatever needs to be taken care of, building up fences, painting walls, cooking and the other millions of little odd jobs that you might want me to have a crack at. Helping with administrative stuff is also possible, I got solid computer skills including experience in web design, programming, installing & fixing Windows and Linux systems... yes, it definitely sounds like I am a bit of a nerd as well! I can also mind kids, my two siblings have 6 kids in total and I just visited all of them back in Switzerland... yes, they were also challenging! Basically I will help you with any kind of work you'd appreciate me for.

Outside of work, I like to play music (I call my guitar my wife...), and enjoy to socialise with everyone keen to do so. I am also into sports (soccer, hiking, Frisbee), reading (1984, Fahrenheit 451, Island, The dispossessed, Brave new world...etc), card games and chess. But more importantly, I'm always keen to learn new things, please teach me! I'm also fluent in German, French, English, so if you'd like me to teach or practice one of them with you, I'd be happy to! Same for Maths and Physics, I've tutored year 11 & 12 students before in Melbourne. Finally, if we don't speak a common language and can't communicate through algebra either, I will just smile and start using some body language :-)

Btw, I have my own car now in Wellington. I'm also a non-smoker, eat vegetarian or non-vegetarian food and try to apply a minimal consumption lifestyle. Thanks for reading, I hope you have a good day now! Aldo.