Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Erica Schmidt

Erica Schmidt, 47 from Australia (female)
Email: click here
Network: Australia
Present Country: Australia
Join Date: December 24, 2011
Last Updated: August 22, 2017
Last Signed In: October 14, 2017

Companion Ad:
Hi, From November/December 2017 on I would be interested to travel with someone else and who wish to find some place to learn things around organic gardening, farm work or just a general hand or working in a hostel or similar. I would love to experience working with horses, milking cows and other farm duties within Australia. At this stage I plan to spend sometime in Pichi Richi in the Flinders Ranges and sometime in Bathurst. I do need to be in Toowoomba for the first 3 weeks of January and be back in Adelaide to start study late January/Early February. It would be great to travel with 1 or 2 other persons. Always more fun than to be on our own. So feel free to contact me if you are interested to share a part of your travel. Erica.

Next Destination(s):
Looking for opportunities from early November. Need to be in
Toowoomba most of January and back to Adelaide by Late
January/Early February.

Helper Description:
Hi all,

I live in Adelaide but am soon to move to something more suitable but am taking sometime out between exiting one place and entering next and would love to experience various helpx opportunities. I do have some limitations in what I can do as am vision impaired and in recovery from cancer. However I am certainly well able to give a hand in the kitchen with meal prep, cooking or around house with vacuuming, mopping and any basic cleaning or any light gardening work. If there are dogs I can also take dogs for a walk and possibly help any school aged children with their homework.

Unfortunately, I cannot do much heavy outside yard work due to spondylitis in spine. As well as being vision impaired I do have Epilepsy. Epilepsy, is well controlled by medication. It has been more than 12 months since my last seizure. Stairs with railings are no issue for me to get up and down.

Due to vision impairment and Epilepsy I do not drive or ride a bike but get around using foot power and public transport. My vision impairment, is such that I have limited peripheral and depth perception but central vision is still reasonable but not enough to drive.

I do use a long white cane and have other portable aids (eg magnifier, screen reader) that assist me to carry out daily tasks that involve reading and other sight related tasks. I can adjust to new surroundings and love the challenge of doing so.

My vision is at its worst at night so prefer to arrive somewhere new in daylight hours as much as possible when travelling.

I am looking for hosts handy to public transport (as I do not drive or ride a bike) in Melbourne or Adelaide and surrounding areas. I would love to do any work to do with animals, children, household duties.

I have never learnt to ride horses but am eager to experience new things. I have a great love for all animals and am a quick learner.

I have mostly worked in Admin field and community service field within not for profit organisations and have also worked with Children, and in Boarding Kennels but desire to broaden my skills and do some traveling as well.
I am unable though to do anything that would require a lot of heavy lifting.

Any fruit or vegetable picking/harvesting would not be suitable where sorting maybe suitable depending on length of time I would be required to stand.

If you are looking for any assistance and are unsure if the work you have available would be suitable please don't hesitate to ask.