Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Alex Whitelaw

Alex Whitelaw, 25 from Canada (female)
Email: click here
Network: New Zealand
Present Country: New Zealand
Join Date: October 20, 2017
Last Updated: December 4, 2017
Last Signed In: December 27, 2017

Companion Ad:
Hello there! I am currently traveling alone, but wouldnít mind a companion. Iím heading to the Bay of Plenty by November 22 to help out on a small farm. I have my own car now, so it would be easy to meet up! I love anything to do with the outdoors, and since being here I havenít been able to see much. So it would be nice to get out on some adventures on my day off!

Helper Description:
Hi there!

My name is Alex, I'm a small town girl from Dawson City, Yukon (northern Canada) looking for a warm winter for once and some hard work to go with it. I've finally left the frozen north and made it roughly all around the North Island! Currently though Iím in a little town called Ohakune. I now have my own car so itís easy to get around. Eventually I would like to make my way to the South Island, but I have no set plans.

So far in my short time Iíve done some stock work: moving cattle and sheep from paddock to paddock; helped with sheering; have done a bit of fencing; aclimatizing to the warming weather! Along with working on a homestead where we do horse trekking.

I have lots of customer service skills; however, I have many years of hard labour work. Growing up my family had a small farm (pigs, chickens, horse) so I am always waking up early to get going to work; I've been a hiking guide around the mountains; worked in a dog yard (dog mushing) through summer and winter; was a Field Research Assistant out in the bush for months at a time; relief wrangler for a hunting outfit (also spending lots of time in the bush).

In all these jobs I have required skills to work independently/corruptively, enjoy all weather in the outdoors, work with my hands, work around obstacles that may occur, keep a positive attitude, operating/maintaining ATV's, snowmobiles, Argo's, etc, and to keep safety in mind when working in any kind of workplace.

My goal is to gain more experience in a hard working field to become a full time wrangler for a local outfit. I do need more experience with horses, but I am willing to take any job that involves working with animals. I enjoy hunting, fishing, and anything outdoors that keeps me busy. I would prefer somewhere where accommodation is offered and I am currently looking for paid work, since all the work Iíve done has been for accommodation.
In that case, I would rather work long hours in a day then just a few here and there, I am willing to learn and do whatever someone may want!

I hope to hear from you soon!