help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Bill Ryley

Bill Ryley, 33 from United Kingdom (male)
Email: click here
Network: Canada
Present Country: Canada
Join Date: August 11, 2009
Last Updated: July 20, 2019
Last Signed In: August 12, 2019

Companion Ad:
Always interested to hear from people who are looking to travel and explore

Next Destination(s):
Seeking host this fall in Souther Western BC

Helper Description:
*Looking for host(s) FOR FALL FROM SEPTEMBER 2019*

I'm Bill, I moved to Vancouver 5 years ago from the UK where Id grown up and spent most of my adult life in the south of England. During this time in Vancouver, I worked in film and television production (art direction, set dec, props etc.) before becoming rather disenchanted with the industry and have been gradually pushing myself away from it over the past year or so; reengaging with and developing interests in travel, people, arts & culture, history, science, nature, reading and writing:
Im reminded of the aspect in Helpx I enjoy the most being the opportunity to seek out new experiences- whether those are social, technical, natural etc.- whilst making a wholesome contribution to worthy projects and people that appreciate the help.

Last year I retrofitted a 1987 GMC Van into a camper with BC travel in mind and am planning on taking a longer break this summer around the southern BC islands. Having had vidid and sociable experiences through Helpx years ago, I would love to incorporate some more of those into my trip this time too. I think the van project demonstrates some woodworking and problem solving ability I can offer, so Ive uploaded some pictures to my profile, and for fun too (and a bit of showing off?)

Before moving to Canada, In South West England, I took varied and dynamic work in ever evolving capacities: a photographer, videographer and director of artistic and outdoor education projects and workshops. I'd taught photography too, this after some time working for and with artists as a studio technician and assistant in London for a couple of years. During that lively time I was lucky to work closely with an ecological education group who offered me training in nature conservation, species monitoring and outdoor education management and delivery. I visited many wild spaces and nature reserves around the UK and European countries, absorbing the energy and expertise of passionate and knowledgable people in their fields. That time was a great privilege for me and affected a much keener interest and understanding of the natural world than Id had before, which I still carry to this day.

I finished a degree in fine art about ten years ago (it was officially in sculpture but we were messing around with all sorts of stuff!) and have explored many different disciplines and iterations of art over the years: filmmaking, sound art, sculptural installation, you name it...
Over recent years I have moved increasingly away from visual art and been pushing myself further in creative writing (with limited success so far but well see!)

I have a website portfolio with some of my personal and commercial photography and artwork over the years for anyone who's interested:

http://billryley.com

Essay over; Phew! :)