Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Alejandro Lopez

Alejandro Lopez, 35 from United States (male)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: United States
Join Date: April 17, 2017
Last Updated: February 12, 2018
Last Signed In: June 1, 2018

Companion Ad:

Next Destination(s):

Helper Description:
Hello Host/Helpers Around the World,
My name is Alejandro and below is a short story about myself.

Instagram: al3jandro_lop3z

I was born in Miami, FL (USA). Son to a Colombian couple that came over in their late 20's to start their life in America. After high-school, at the age of 18, I was offered a summer job at PBS&J (A large engineering firm in the US) where I worked in the IT lab and quickly caught on with corporate life. I spent the next 8 years specializing in Helpdesk, Phone Systems, Office Security systems, etc.. Between 2008 and 2010 our firm was sold to WS Atkins and I was promoted to the Networking/Telecommunications group . I obtained a couple of Cisco Systems certifications and worked on our North American and Global networks until recently. However, as more of our support jobs were moved to different parts of the world, I was laid off. Not having a job for the first time in 17 years made me think a lot.. And, the more I thought about what to do next, the more It all pulled me towards ďtaking off and seeing the worldĒ.

I need to see the world and experience life in other places. My love for the outdoors and the rare desire to do hard physical labor, combined with a yearning to explore, absorb, and learn new thingsÖ has lead me here, to HelpX! To this wonderful system of Hosts and Helpers. : )

Iím strong, my energy levels are high, Iím healthy, I have confidence that Iíll be able to learn and pick up just about anything you throw at me. Iím a friendly, loving, person whoís always felt a strong connection with all people and nature. I speak fluent English and Spanish, I can teach either of them on a basic level. I have built and helped build fences, chicken coops, gardens, sheds, and other miscellaneous items. Iím ok with being out in the sun all day or up on a mountain working in the snow. Iím a great swimmer, ride bikes, drive trucks, can drive a tractor or fork lift, and I love riding horses. I work well with pets, and animals in general. Iím not afraid to milk a cow or feed a bull. I have been on numerous camping trips, where Iíve chopped wood for fires, devised simple systems for waste management and water gathering. Iím not allergic to anything, I can eat and will try just about anything. I know how to cook, paint, and doodle. I prefer to work outside vs cleaning or doing house shores, but will be very tidy and clean. My main interest is ecotourism and gaining as much experience in that area as possible, also farming and adventure sport hospitality.

I would like to spend 1 to 2 years away from home (money permitting). I would prefer to be with one host for extended periods of time.

Starting in New Zealand was easy for me to choose. If youíve read my story so far and have seen my FB or IG page, I think youíll see why. New Zealand offers a wide range of all the things that I love, itís on the other side of the world (which will allow me to work my way back quite nicely), you speak my language, and all of my research about the people, culture, the lifestyle and spirit of your country, are exactly what Iím looking for. Thank you for your consideration and I canít wait to be part of it all!

Im in Australia and will have a car for 4 days departing from Sydney on Oct5th. I'm looking for adventure companions / travel mates to split petrol and supplies. Id like to do a backcountry camping trip, some exploring, and stay at one or two hostels during this time. Somewhere in the Blue Mountains, beach towns north of Sydney, or surrounding areas.... but I'm open for any ideas or suggestions.