help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Michael Deane

Michael Deane, 30 from United Kingdom (male)
Email: click here
Network: New Zealand
Present Country: United Kingdom
Join Date: April 22, 2018
Last Updated: December 29, 2018
Last Signed In: June 22, 2019

Companion Ad:
hello people if you fancy hanging out and maybe get on some volunteering with me, let me know.

Next Destination(s):
New zealand

Helper Description:
Planning to come out to NZ by october 2018. Taking 6 month sabaticle from the rat race in london. Will be flying into Auckland. Then volunteering on a Kiwi nature reserve near Dargeville, southwest of Wangherei as soon as i arrive minus a couple of days to get over the jetlag. End of November will be available to hosts. My skills include being driven and team working. I used to work in a kitchen, so know how not to burn food. Been cooking for my Dad recently as im staying with him at the minute to save money. I've been getting clean plates back so that's a good sign. By no means though think i'm a michelin starred chef, i just enjoy cooking and learning about food related stuff. Its funny i actually look back fondly on my days as a cook, but at the time absolutely hated the long hours and the rubbish pay. It was definitely not the high end of the service industry.
One of my dishes i do is a veggie curry, another one is my chicken risotto but that's a two part process because its best to make your own stock. I do a decent shakshuka too, haven't cooked it in ages though, but its kinda of hard to mess up. I eat everything so experiment a lot. I'm good with animals and kids. My sisters got three boys aged 2, 4 and 6. They are a hand full, but they are hilarious. We always have a laugh when were hanging out.
My dads got two tortoises, they don't do much but are full of character, and there pretty easy going, just like me. Everyone thinks they're easy pets to have but they're more work than you would think.
I've recently started helping out on my friends allotment. I'm pretty handy with a rake. So hopefully by the time i'm out in NZ i will have gained some better gardening skills. I'm use to using garden shears and doing bits of weeding.
Also really like music and am actually djing in a couple of weeks at reggae/ska festival Ireland, Co Cork. I wont be bringing my records to New Zealand unfortunately.
Other than that i can clean and i like to think i'm good friendly company with a great sense of humour. I don't take myself too seriously. Really looking forward to meeting people and being a great HelpX helper to other great HelpX hosts.