Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Woon Josef

Woon Josef, 21 from Singapore (male)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: Singapore
Join Date: March 14, 2016
Last Updated: December 20, 2017
Last Signed In: December 24, 2017

Companion Ad:
Hi there! So my ideal companion should: 1) like having thoughtful(practise active listening and sincere reflection when forming a response), meaningful (our aspirations, fears, role models, identity, worries) conversations about life 2) be independent and enjoys spending time alone sometimes because i imagine we'd we spending lots of time together and in that large amount of time, there'd be many silent moments. 3) like to learn new things so that we can team up and enjoy ourselves whenever the host gives us a new assignment 4) like to be playful 5) like nature so we can go hike/trek outdoors during our freetime! :DDD

Next Destination(s):
I hope to live in China for the coming summer (May- July 2018) and
seriously learn about cooking. I can offer translation services in
exchange.

Helper Description:
Hello!

I'm Josef Woon, a 21 yr-old Chinese Singaporean male studying Liberal Arts in Yale-NUS college in Singapore.


What i am looking for is to learn cooking in a farm-to-table restaurant. I do not have much experience cooking as my mom often cooks at home but i can cook food that doesnt taste bad because i have abit of experience cooking for myself during the holidays when my parents are out working. I am also very keen in honing my cooking skills, although it is difficult to find one which offers professional training in Singapore unless i have prior professional experience. Hence, i am seeking an opportunity where i can learn how to cook in a professional setting.

My main intention is not to become a chef, but to develop a relationship with food and enjoying nature through it. That was why i chose to work in organic farms.

What i can offer is primarily my translation skill. English is my first language and i excel in it. However, i am less able in Chinese. Even though i have learnt Chinese for 12 years and got an 'A' for my 'Singapore-Cambridge GCE Advanced Level' Chinese, i am not fluent in it as i am not used to thinking and speaking in Chinese. Nevertheless, i recognize its importance to help me discover my identity and its potential for giving me future career opportunities. Thus, you can be assured that i will improve my Chinese and satisfy your translation needs if i am given the chance to work with you.

I can also teach English to young Children. Under ‘ReadAbleSG’ (https://www.readablesg.com/), i volunteered to teach children, aged 3 to 6, English through a phonics-based curriculum incorporating creative elements like storytelling, acting and play. I was involved in improving the curriculum and worked with fellow volunteers to implement my ideas.

These are the above skills i am willing to contribute. I can also do some basic farming skills such as harvesting and caring for vegetables. Similarly, i can help to maintain household cleanliness. But these should not be my main jobs.

Hit me up if you need me! :D