Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Zach Phillips

Zach Phillips, 29 from United States (male)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: Indonesia
Join Date: November 10, 2017
Last Updated: November 19, 2017
Last Signed In: June 20, 2018

Companion Ad:
Not necessarily looking, but Iím always open to meeting new people!

Next Destination(s):
Currently: Bali, Indonesia

Helper Description:
I just arrived to Bali, Indonesia and am currently staying with a friend in Ubud. I am originally from a small town in Texas but have been in Asia the last 6 years.

Initially working as an English teacher for the first 3 years in South Korea working with kids from kindergarten all the way up to middle school. After that, I got placed in an international school in China teaching AP economics (my major in college) to high school students there.

For years Iíve been saving up money to start pursuing the other passions that have become so strong in my lifeópermaculture, mindfulness and slow-living, cooking, and creativity.

Iíve been practicing yoga daily for the last 3 years, have explored meditation quite a bit (including a vippasana) in that time as well, and over the last 6 years creativity has become central in numerous ways. I am passionate about music, photography, writing, drawing, and dabble with all sorts of things. I believe a creative pursuit in life is absolutely necessary.

In regards to community building, Iíve realized that ever since my first years in college Iíve gotten involved and have loved building communities. In college I helped restart a fraternity in hopes of altering what the notion of a ďfratĒ entailed, and we were known to be the alternative community to the others. In South Korea I started and built a massive online facebook group for photographers living in South Korea and regularly engaged in numerous group photo-related activities. Most recently, in China I found a local Burning Man community who hosted their own regional burn outside of Shanghai. For the last 3 years I worked as an organizer helping build the community into a family of creatives in a place quite famous for its repression of freedom of expresssion. I truly love the family of friends weíve built there.

Today, I am looking for experiences related to any of the interests mentioned above. My permaculture experience is quite limited but it is the thing Iím extremely interested to explore. I had a personal urban balcony pot garden the last 2 years which required me learning basic gardening skills. Iíve been a vegan/vegetarian for about 8 years now and have become quite a skilled chef in the vegan department. I love to work with my hands and Iím a very focused and hard-working individual. Iím also a strong leader and truly love to help others, in fact it has become my purpose in life.

Hope to explore and start learning how to potentially build my own permaculture art community in the future. But Iím still open to any kind of experience with open, compassionate people looking to make the world a better place.