help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Lydia Eastman

Lydia Eastman, 28 from United States (female)
Email: click here
Network: Europe
Present Country: Spain
Join Date: March 6, 2019
Last Updated: August 27, 2019
Last Signed In: October 16, 2019

Companion Ad:
Hi!! I’m looking for a female travel companion for 2 weeks in September in Málaga, Southwest Andalucía, and southern Portugal. The dates are Sep 9-20. The weekend I’ll be visiting a friend but I would love to travel with someone during the week. I prefer a woman and Spanish speaker so I can practice Spanish :) I speak quite a bit of Spanish but want to continue improving. The traveler has to be nice, adventurous, and loves the beach. I will be using couchsurfing for lodging and Blablacar or buses/train for travel. Send me a message on Helpx or whatsapp!

Next Destination(s):
2019: Spain (August, September) and England (October).

Helper Description:
(versión española abajo)

Hello! My name is Lydia and I am from the USA. This summer 2019 I will be traveling through Spain during August and September and then I will be heading to England and France during October. My goal this summer is to participate in help exchange the majority of the time in order to help families, improve my Spanish, make friends, learn new skills, and become immersed in the local culture.

A little bit about me: I love the outdoors, especially the ocean, and am an avid surfer. Traveling is one of my priorities so I make sure to travel every year. I have been to Chile, Costa Rica, Spain, Portugal, Morocco, Jordan, Israel, Palestine, England, Iceland, the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Canada, and France.

I taught surf at a surf camp and was a lead counselor on a month long surf camp trip to Costa Rica. After I graduated from college with a bachelor's degree in Spanish, I moved Spain where I was an English teacher's assistant for one year. After that, I came home, married my wonderful husband, and became a Spanish college professor. During that time, I taught Spanish for two years before moving into an administrative role on campus. I am taking 4 months off of work this summer to travel solo while my husband is enrolled in an intensive military training course.


Some of my skills include:
- general gardening (weeding, composting, etc)
- foraging (edible mushrooms and berries)
- kombucha brewing
- Art projects (crafting, embroidery, mixed-media, clay)
- Social media (I run an Etsy shop and its Instagram, Pinterest, and Facebook page)
- animal care (dogs, cats, birds, and some experience with goats and horses)
- avian rehabilitation (limited to knowledge acquired during my volunteer work at the Wildlife Center)
- limited construction knowledge building small things.
- I am comfortable operating small power tools such as drills, hand-held sanders, and saws as long as someone walks me through the project plan first.
- speaking Spanish
- I taught surf for a few years
- I taught Spanish for a few years


Some skills that I want to learn:
- organic gardening
- animal husbandry (goats, alpacas, sheep, horses)
- winemaking, growing grapes, and anything related to fermenting (beer, kombucha, etc)
- construction, such as fence building
- beekeeping
- cheese making
- bread making



~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Version española


Hola! Me llamo Lydia, soy de los Estados Unidos. Tengo planes de viajar por España en agosto y septiembre. Después quiero visitar Inglaterra y Francia en octubre. Quiero viajar por Helpx porque me daría mas oportunidades de ayudar a familias, encontrar amigos, mejorar mi español, aprender nuevas habilidades, y conocer a la cultura.

Un poco sobre mi: Soy una amante del aire libre, en particular la mar (soy una surfista). Viajar es una de mis prioridades entonces he viajado mucho y conozco a muchas países. Conozco a Chile, Costa Rica, España, Marruecos, Jordania, Israél, Palestina, Inglaterra, Islandia, Holanda, Bélgica, Alemania, Canadá, y Francia.

Ensenyé surf en un campamiento de surf por 3 veranos y fui una supervisora del campamiento de una viaje a Costa Rica que duré un mes entero. Después de mi graduación con un titulo en español, viví en España (en Moaña, un pueblo en Galicia cerca de Vigo) por un año donde fui una asistente de inglés a los instructores de inglés. Me casé con mi marido y fui una profesora de Español en una universidad pequeña aquí en Oregon, USA. Este verano, tengo 4 meses libre y por eso voy a viajar sola por Europa mientras mi esposo está registrado en un programa militaría intensiva.


Algunas de mis habilidades:
- cuidado del jardín
- cuidado de animales pequeños (gatos, perros, pájaros)
- un poco experiencia con caballos y cabras
- puedo hacer pequeños proyectos de construcción (estoy bien con herramientas eléctricas, pero necesito que alguien muéstrame cómo hacer el proyecto la primera vez y después no necesito mucha supervision)

Quiero aprender mas acerca de:
- la agricultura orgánica
- la apicultura
- haciendo queso y pan