Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Astrid felicia Ardagh

Astrid felicia Ardagh, 20 from Norway (female)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: Norway
Join Date: October 23, 2015
Last Updated: October 24, 2017
Last Signed In: May 31, 2018

Companion Ad:
If you like authentic experiences, spontaneous adventures and critical/creative thought I'd be eager to get to know you and join paths.

Next Destination(s):
Indonesia and New Zealand

Helper Description:
After graduating from United World College in 2015 I set off traveling in Central/South America on my own. I lived with families, went on adventures and worked on an organic farm. It opened my eyes to new horizons as I immersed myself in new experiences, met new people, was exposed to new cultures and ways of living, tasted new flavors and gained lots of new knowledge and skills. Rather than traveling to SEE the places, I wanted to become A PART OF that place, and let the place become a part of me and shape my journey.
After my trip I spent a year at an art foundation course in Denmark, and am now itching to go out and explore the world once more. This time I'm heading towards Japan, south east Asia and Australia.

I’m a hybrid between English and Norwegain. I have lived in both countries and grown up in international and creative environments, with a focus on sustainable living and lateral thinking. On our organic farm I’ve helped with growing our own food, caring for the animals, house upkeep and helping wherever help was needed. I see what needs to be done and commit to a job, whether it be harvesting vegetables, washing up or something more specific. I’m flexible and a fast and eager learner, willing to try out most things. The people I have worked for have been very pleased with my work ethic and dedication to the task at hand.

My main interest and direction for the future is rooted in art and humanities. I love making in most forms, especially painting, crafts and photography. I have an eye for aesthetics and creative input so I would love to help with all forms of decoration. I also like to play the guitar, read, have long philosophical discussions, be out in nature, sleep under the stars, cook a meal from our produce or go for a long hike with my dog.

Aside from my personal interests I've had a fair amount of work experience. Mostly I've worked with kids and the elderly. Both in forms of teaching and caring in schools and kindergartens and an elderly home. I find working with people comes very naturally to me and find it very enjoyable and rewarding. I've been told that in all cases they've been very sad to see me leave.
I've also had fair amount of experience with handy work and refurbishment, both inside and outside the house. I spent one summer with a carpenter relaying slates on the roof of a lighthouse. Another summer I spent stripping, restoring, painting and decorating someones sitting room, and had many jobs painting, cleaning and mending, houses and gardens. I've also worked in a rural café and gallery so have experience with catering and cooking on a more professional level. But overall I'm happy doing most jobs and find myself an easy and eager learner.

-Childcare – nursery assistant, babysitting and outdoor activity guide/actor for school camps.
-Art – teacher for kids/personal practice
-Waitressing in a café/gallery
-Open-air museum guide
-Farm hand: Helping in the hay harvest, caring for animals including cows, sheep, horses (I can ride) and we have cats, dogs and chickens.
-Building assistant – renovation/odd jobs in our own house and for others, painting houses inside and out and working as a carpenters assistant laying tiled roofs
-Organic gardening – for myself and for others
-Running market stalls selling homemade good – candles, soap, crochet crafts etc.
-Shop assistant
-Amnesty group leader/volunteer: Organising events, public flash mobs and performances
-Youth council leader
-Model United Nations participant and organiser
-Caring for elderly
-Red Cross first aid course

Other skills/interests:
-Crafts – knitting and all sorts of making
-Cooking – everything from everyday cooking to party food, cakes and bread.
-Outdoor activities – kayak leader course, canoeing skills, skiing, climbing, general hiking skills and knowledge of the outdoors
-Leadership skills – representative of my college house/member of the student council– organising events, establishing rules, conflict resolution, hosting meetings and giving personal support and guidance
-Music - I play some guitar and I played the flute in an orchestra for several years
-Arial acrobatics and some yoga