Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Paige Maloney

Paige Maloney, 25 from United States (female)
Email: click here
Network: New Zealand
Present Country: United States
Join Date: January 12, 2018
Last Updated: January 26, 2019
Last Signed In: January 26, 2019

Companion Ad:
Not really in need of a travel companion because I plan to stay in one spot for a while, but I would love to meet up with other travelers. Eventually I'll do a south island road trip

Next Destination(s):
Planning to be in Dunedin for a few months! I'm looking for, ideally, a paid position on a farm or to study soil science/microbiology.

Helper Description:
Currently on a one-way trip, and I have until October to stay in lovely New Zealand. Auckland and Waiheke Island were great, I enjoyed Paihia and Whangarei and Nelson as well- but I think I will spend some time in Dunedin for the summer. My long term plan is to gain knowledge about metagenomics and ecological microbiology. I'm interested in studying plant-rhizome interactions when I go back to the States to get a MSc. In the meantime I would love to learn about horticulture, sustainable living, and whatever hobbies my hosts are passionate about. I've had some great experiences with helpx where I really felt welcomed and the situation was mutually beneficial. I like to volunteer when I can even though I like spending time in hostels too.

For the moment I don't have a car, and I don't plan to buy one if possible. I've been fine without a car even if it means biking, waiting for a bus, or hitchhiking.

As for my abilities..
Since I arrived in nz I have learned about dairy farms. I cupped-on a rotary rig for 1000 and helped round up cows from the pasture. I would really like to keep working on a farm.
I have gardening skills because I've worked at a plant nursery in Arizona, and iI now have some helpx experience with setting up a garden for summer. I am dive certified.. Not sure if that will ever be relevant to helpx but I sure hope it is. I am good with kids and animals. I have a lot of experience in customer service. I also have a certificate to teach English as a foreign language. And I can cook. I'm not afraid of hard work.