Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Matthew Cairns

Matthew Cairns, 45 from United Kingdom (male)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: Brazil
Join Date: April 9, 2016
Last Updated: November 19, 2018
Last Signed In: January 8, 2019

Companion Ad:
Perhaps a companion helpxer/traveler would be good. I am currently in Bolivia seeking a volunteer position on my way to the coast of Brasil where i hope to sail to Trinidad with a boat whose captain I've been in touch with through . From there I will hopefully return to Europe on another boat - the Great Sea willing!

Next Destination(s):
Current location: Trinidad

Helper Description:
Soy un hombre de Escocia originalmente que tiene 45 aņos. A traves de los ultimos 10 aņos por la mayor parte del tiempo he estado trabajando voluntariamente en fincas/granjas ecologicas (normalmente a traves de la red wwoof o helpx), initialmente durante mas que un aņo en Irlanda, pues 7 aņos en Espaņa (4 en la Peninsula y 3 en las Islas Canarias). En la Isla de El Hierro tenia la oportunidad para cultivar mi propias huertas ecologicas (durante casi 2 aņos), vendiendo y comiendo lo que producia. Soy un musico y toco la trompeta, flauta Irlandesa, flauta dulce, didgeridoo y piano. Tambien tengo experiencia de navigar y en 2016 navigue de Gran Canaria hasta Trinidad (llegando 8 Abril). Desde entonces he ayudado con dos projectos en Trinidad ( y ), tres en Colombia, tres en Ecuador y cinco en Peru.

En Escocia cuando era mas joven estudie las matematicas, hice investigaciones en informatica, trabaje como modelo de arte y toque la trompeta por la calle y en varias bandas en Dundee y Glasgow.

I am a 45-year-old man from Scotland originally. Over the last 10 years I have been mainly working voluntarily on organic farms and smallholdings (usually through the wwoof or helpx networks), initially for over a year in Ireland, then seven years in Spain - four years in mainland Spain and three years in the Canary Islands where, on the island of El Hierro I had the opportunity to cultivate my own organic vegetable gardens (over a period of almost two years), selling and eating what i produced. I am a musician and play the trumpet, tin-whistle, treble recorder didgeridoo and piano. I also have some sailing experience and in 2016 sailed from Gran Canaria to Trinidad (arriving 8th April 2016). Since then I have helped with two projects in Trinidad ( and ), three in Colombia, three in Ecuador and five in Peru.
In Scotland when i was younger I studied mathematics, did computer research, worked as and art model, busked and played trumpet in a variety of bands in Dundee and Glasgow.