Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Griff Radulski

Griff Radulski, 24 from United States (male)
Email: click here
Network: USA
Present Country: United States
Join Date: September 5, 2016
Last Updated: March 5, 2018
Last Signed In: April 9, 2018

Companion Ad:
Sure! I am on my motorcycle and I can't carry passengers, but I would love to caravan with you! I'm headed south and west for now. I am friendly and resourceful. All companions considered, especially if they have dogs.

Next Destination(s):
Mid-Atlantic

Helper Description:
Hi! My name's Griff. I am a queer, fossil-fuel-minimalist aspiring farmer/homesteader. My experience includes one full season of work at Tillers Intl, where I learned to grow small grains with oxen and horses, and got some experience with blacksmithing, coopering, timberframing and other sundry skills. I have also WWOOFed for parts of seasons, managed various gardens, helped out at a few intentional communities, and developed homesteading skills on my own. I want to meet interesting people and learn how to build. By "build" I mean houses, social infrastructure, empathy, an alternative to capitalism ... but mostly houses.

Ethic: I'm here to learn and travel. My experience is sufficient to find paid farmwork but I want to see how lots of different people steward their land. I work hard and long hours if I understand and believe in the work. I meet minimum expectations for hours worked even if I'm moving rocks pile to pile and don't know why. I am generally happy to plug in where I see a need, but don't initiate projects without checking in (I've had too many people in my own gardens helpfully weed up my marigolds, etc.).

Skills: livestock management and care, some small-scale garden management, basic (semi-dwarf) tree pruning, permaculture-based gardening, plant ID, cooking, baking, cheesemaking, fiber arts of many kinds, blacksmithing, simple woodworking, communication, flexibility
Skills wanted: construction and carpentry, metalworking, masonry

Machinery I am comfortable with: skidsteer, most common field horse- and oxen-drawn equipment (2-up; have done 3-up). Can also drive a tractor; prefer horses.
Machinery I want to improve on: chainsaw. I can buck but need practice. I would LOVE to learn to safely fell trees. I can stick and rod weld safely (with consultation on initial setting) but I'd like practice on that too.

Livestock exp: comfortable caring for goats, horses working and otherwise, oxen and other cattle, chickens, rabbits, sheep, ducks. I have enough experience to do an all right job of management/supervising but since I would be caring for your animals I will want very detailed instructions on your routine and methods.

Other exp: I can cook for four people or 109.