Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Jur Joosten

Jur Joosten, 26 from Netherlands (male)
Email: click here
Network: Canada
Present Country: United States
Join Date: August 14, 2017
Last Updated: September 19, 2017
Last Signed In: September 30, 2017

Companion Ad:
Yes! My schoolbus has space for other travelers! If we seem to match I'm always open to share everything that I have. I've been a CouchSurfing-Host for many years and love to meet new people. I am currently around New York City, and planning to head south into New Jersey, Washington and eventually even Mexico.

Next Destination(s):
Canada or Mexico!

Helper Description:
Sidenote: Heading to Mexico/Canada WITHOUT my bus! So I wont need a spot to park ;)

I have learned being honest and straight with people helps everyone the best. So here it is:
Facts about me summed up:

Age: 26yo
Height: 5'9 [180cm]
Weight: 158lbs [72kg]
Body-type: Athletic. Can do, and will do anything.
Country of origin: The Netherlands (sometimes better known as Holland).

Initital intentional duration of my stay: 1-2 months.
Traveling: Out of the US!
English: Fluent.
Other languages: Dutch, German (basic), Spanish (learning).
Mind-set: Very open-minded.
Transport: Mid-size converted Schoolbus & longboard.
Animals: Loves them. If you have bigger dogs, I probably end up playing with them all my free time.

Skill-set / Experience with:
Independent, Hosting/recieving/serving Guests, Socialisation, Carpentry, (basic)Electrical work, Hard physical labor, Animalcare, Driving (incl. manual gears), Software(Web) Development, Hardware maintenance.

Diet: None
Allergies: None
Cigarettes: No
Alcohol: If allowed I'd like a beer at the end of a hard day of work. Nothing excessive.

Preferred situation at host:
I'd love to work alongside others and sharing ideas about whatever project there is to do. Depending on the situation but my main goal is to share, laugh, meet, and work with new people. Loves being considered an equal instead of a little helper ;)
Anything else would be fully depending on the situation; I'd be happy to stay in my bus if the situation requires that, but would prefer to fully engage in the life-style of the host.

I am a strong, hard working, social fellow from Holland. I love physical work and cant wait to meet new people. I have been a CouchSurfing-host for many years myself! Next to physical work, I'm also a very technical. Both with my hands, and behind a screen. I've been working in IT for many years, and I'm a professional Web-Developer back home.

Yet I left this job to go explore the world, working with my hands and meeting new people is what I love to do. Sitting behind a desk 40hrs a week scares me now ;) But I'd be still happy to help you out with my knowledge of the big digital world.

My English-skills are pretty well developed. Although I think I'll never get rid of the accent ;).

So summarized this would be me (Selfpromotion 101, haha!):
I'm a good guy with his heart in the right place, who loves to laugh more than anything in the world. I'll work hard, share my ideas and enjoy every second while doing it. I love to be around both animals and people.
To put this into perspective; I'm currently in NYC, a fellow traveler told me about HelpX yesterday, and I COULD NOT BE MORE EXCITED to leave NYC and come and meet you and help you out. I'm strong, well educated and grew up in the farmlands back home. I'm the youngest out of three brothers and can't wait to see what life has to offer for me. Bring it on.

I am traveling with a (medium sized)schoolbus. Which provides me my own bed and private space. Its fairly large, but no larger than one-and-a-half car-length. For me it is a priority that there is a nice place for my bus to park, preferably with an outlet and WiFi within range :).