help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Jose Escayola

Jose Escayola, 25 from Spain (male)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: Brazil
Join Date: July 3, 2015
Last Updated: October 26, 2019
Last Signed In: November 5, 2019

Companion Ad:
Open to find a travel companion around Brazil :D ! I'd really like to visit the rainforest and/or go surfing in Santa Catarina island or Fernando de Noronha But any other plan is welcome of course !

Next Destination(s):
Brazil north and northeast region, Rio de
janeiro region and Santa Catarina island

Helper Description:
Introduction:
I'm travelling around Brazil for the next 2-3 months after quiting my job in Barcelona, and planning to move to Berlin after my trip :)
I studied engineering physics and worked in a consulting company for a few years.
So I lived in Barcelona my whole life for a number of reasons and now I have the chance to look for new adventures.
I leave here a link to my CouchSurfing profile where you can have a look at references from hosts, guests and other travellers with whom I've met:
https://couchsurfing.page.link/oqin

Dates available and location:
From now until 25th January 2020 which is when my visa expires.
Location can be anywhere in Brazil with nature. Preferably next to the ocean or rainforest.

Skills:
I worked as a programmer so I can be of help with anything related to websites or computers.
I'm fit and enjoy a lot working outdoors so for example construction or sports sounds very good to me.
I'm also very interested in farming and new ways of feeding the world without destroying the environment.
Besides, I would be very motivated to help in anything related to any of my hobbies or interests stated below ;)
I'd like to add that I'm a fast enthusiast learner so I'm looking forward to learning new skills.

Interests/hobbies:
I've always been into learning and practicing new sports. Currently I'm very much into sailing, surfing and kite-surfing.
I'm a music enthusiast: I play piano and guitar but I'm also very into techno/house/disco music.
I also enjoy very much learning and teaching languages
I like plants and farming, I managed to keep a vegetable garden at home for 3 years, I think gardening is very satisfying !
Since very young, I have been worried with the way we are destroying natural habitats and reducing biodiversity. Among other things, that led me to look for new ways of farming where human and nature can coexist in a way that is enriching for both. So I'd love to work in an environment where these principles are important :)

What I'm looking for in Brazil:
I'm actually up for anything that might sound interesting and in line with what drives me !
Mostly, I'd want to feel helpful as well as learn from my hosts and co-helpers.
Ideally, I'm looking for somewhere either in the rainforest or next to the ocean where I can surf, kitesurf or sail. But as I said , anything new and interesting in the nature sounds great to me !! :)

Languages:
Fluent (both spoken and written): Spanish, French, English, Catalan
Intermediate: Portuguese
Basic: German, Arabic

A bit more about me:
Since you might be considering hosting me if you read this far, I think I owe explaining you a bit more about myself. I may start by saying that I dont feel very comfortable describing myself although that does not mean Im not extroverted, actually Im very sociable. Among the things I enjoy the most doing I can name sailing, surfing, partying, learning stuff, talking about intellectually-challenging subjects and playing/listening to music. My favorite book is "Hundred years of solitude" by Gabriel Garcia Marquez and the last book I read was "Sapiens: a brief history of humankind" by Yuval Noah Harari which I really enjoyed and strongly recommend it to anybody. One of my favourite movies is Pulp Fiction by Tarantino and last movie I utterly enjoyed was Cold War by Pawel Pawlikowski. Lately Im quite into house/disco/techno music but to name a few well-know artists that I have never stopped listening to: Bob Dylan, Chopin, Joao Gilberto, Camarón (flamenco), Al Green, any Buena Vista Social Club musician, Chet Baker, Fela Kuti, Tom Misch, Paolo Conte, Bob Marley and Giacomo Puccini (opera).
I consider myself a very open person and people do enjoy my company although I feel pretentious just writing this. Im very curious and friendly, and very easy to live with. When living with other people I am very self aware, respectful and clean.
I tried to avoid making an empty vague text but I still feel there is much more to a person than what you can describe with such a text. I believe anybody in the right circumstances can be almost anything.
I hope at least I gave you enough info to make you want to host me. Feel free to ask anything you would like to know , please ! I would gladly have a video call to get to meet each other.
Hope to hear back from you !
Thanks for taking time to read this and considering helping me out :)