Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Andy Kearney

Andy Kearney, 27 from United Kingdom (male)
Email: click here
Network: New Zealand
Present Country: New Zealand
Join Date: September 24, 2017
Last Updated: November 28, 2017
Last Signed In: July 13, 2018

Companion Ad:
It would be great to meet other people on helpx, whether kiwi's or otherwise. If you are around Christchurch/south island from 20th October onwards please feel free to make contact. During the warmer months I hope to get done hiking, mountain biking and fishing in. As it gets colder I hope to hear towards the mountains to enjoy some snowboarding

Next Destination(s):
Currently not looking to be hosted

Helper Description:
Hi, I'm arriving in Christchurch from the UK via Vietnam on 20th October 2017 with a 12 month working holiday visa, possibly extending to 24. I am currently in Vietnam, traveling from Hanoi to Ho Chi Minh city then flying to New Zealand via Sydney. My hope is to 'work' via helpx for up to 4 months before finding a permanent place to live and work on the south island. At some point during my stay in NZ I will visit the North island and will possibly use helpX again during this time.

My preferred work would be mainly outdoors, such as helping with upkeep of property/land, gardening or with animals. I have just left my job as a design engineer in the UK and tend to pick up hands on jobs quickly. I don't have any formal building qualifications but am usually the person family and friends come to for help with DIY. I have worked at a garden center, enjoy gardening and was tagged with looking after the garden over the last 4 years of my house share. I have never worked with animals but would be very keen for a new experience and to learn some new skills!

My aim of working via helpx is to gain new skills, make friends in my new country and learn more about it before settling in a place to live in the longer term.

I enjoy cooking and have worked in restaurants as I grew up. I would be very happy to help out at meal times and cook meals 3 or so times a week though I don't think my repertoire of recipes is large enough to do this everyday!