help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Jake Makin

Jake Makin, 28 from United States (male)
Email: click here
Network: USA
Present Country: United States
Join Date: January 21, 2015
Last Updated: April 12, 2019
Last Signed In: June 5, 2019

Companion Ad:


Next Destination(s):
Available in California Spring/Summer 2019

Helper Description:
I am an artist and farmer with applicable and diverse professional and volunteer experience looking to farm this Spring and Summer in California. Currently stationed on the east coast, I have been working full time from my computer for a Fair Trade certification company. It is wonderful and fulfilling work advocating for sustainable social development in non western agricultural communities, however it is time for me to shake it up a bit and continue travelling and working with my hands! When I began this computer job I was working part time on a horse powered vegetable farm, and that balance of computer work/ outdoor work was great. Lately I have been working full time at a screen, and I look forward to being in better balance again.

I value interdisciplinary and inclusive action to better ourselves and become closer to the earth. I am interested in various homesteading and agricultural volunteer opportunities for the short-term, long-term, or anything in between. I look forward to working closely with the land again and continuing my first-hand education in farming and sustainability. For this Summer I am particularly interested in beekeeping, fruit cultivation, traditional crafts, fermentation, and desert herbalism. I love dogs and would love to work with animals as well.

I also love to cook, ferment, forage, create, and experience art. I am emotionally articulate, responsible, quiet and kind. Intentional living, fostering community, and working against capitalist industrial systems are some things that are important to me. I studied art and mythology in college, and have plans to return to school for my masters in either museum studies or archaeological management. I have experience in painting, design, management, CSA work, and construction. From ceative problem solving to simple meditative labor- all of these things I will approach with goodwill and humility.

***

At then end of March I will return to LA to connect with family and friends, and continue building by project 1969 ford f250 and camper. For this Spring and Summer I will be working part-time from my computer, and those hours are quite flexible.

I will be most likely travelling with my truck, so that is an option for me to stay in. From there I am open to creating seasonal, part-time, etc. situations for me to orbit, satellites to my art studio in Los Angles.

I look forward to hearing from you! My best, Jake Makin