Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Sian Luu

Sian Luu, 26 from United Kingdom (female)
Email: click here
Network: New Zealand
Present Country: New Zealand
Join Date: March 16, 2017
Last Updated: March 6, 2018
Last Signed In: May 9, 2018

Companion Ad:


Next Destination(s):
New Zealand

Helper Description:
Hello everyone, thanks for taking the time to look at my profile. Iím Sian, hailing from England, United Kingdom seeking new experiences and hard work. I am a seasoned traveller, having backpacked solo for a year through Europe, Asia and North America, although I have not been bitten by the travel bug I have certainly become interested in experiencing cultures through home stays and work exchanges. I am more than happy to receive questions for advice so please donít hesitate to contact me!

For the past two years I have been a beekeeper in England, (250 hives in London and 90 hives in Norfolk). I came to New Zealand with the goal of learning queen rearing which I am happy to say that I have achieved, so I am taking the time to travel for 2 months. I've also had experience in permaculture farming but I would like some guidance in this area as I still consider myself pretty new at this and would hate to mess up someone's beautiful garden! In between Helpx's I am trying to experience all that New Zealand can offer, so personal recommendations on where to visit are hugely appreciated.

I formerly worked in a nursing home for clients with profound multiple learning disabilities and provided end of life care, I am still very passionate about this but decided that this was not the correct career path for me. As a person I know that Iím extremely optimistic, hard working, fast learning with a big heart that cares for everything from the insects to humans. In my spare time I volunteer at a local charity working with adults (between 20-80) who have suffered from brain injuries, mainly mental and physical rehabilitation and started a knitting group. Iím quite particular and neat, so Iím definitely a good guest, but I really love to become part of the family so i donít want anyone to feel uncomfortable around me. I'm a pretty independent person so I can entertain myself as long as I have books, podcasts etc.

Some of my hobbies/skills include: knitting; football; baking; paper craft; needle point felting; reading; sewing (hand or machine); painting nails.

I also used to work in a 5 star hotel and did laundry and housekeeping, so if you need any cleaning or the like done then I will be more than happy to help out and get down to some work but you will soon find out that I can be over thorough so please let me know if you think I'm overdoing it!

I am currently in Whangarei and looking for a long stay in either Wellington or Auckland from mid March to mid April.