help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Latoya Abulu

Latoya Abulu, 20 from Canada (female)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: Canada
Join Date: December 24, 2015
Last Updated: December 26, 2017
Last Signed In: March 9, 2018

Companion Ad:
The idea of a travel companion sounds brilliant, I would love the opportunity to travel and meet with amazing people along the way. At the moment, my prime destination to travel is in Japan and South East Asia.

Helper Description:
Hello! Bonjour! Hola! Ni-Hao! As-salam alaykom!

My name is Latoya and if you couldn't already tell, I love learning languages (I speak English, French and Spanish fluently, and I am currently learning Arabic and will start learning Mandarin soon) and I am in love with travelling to explore the world! At the moment I am using my time in order to travel, experience, discover and to learn more about myself. I find that the best way to do this is through 'voluntourism', I love volunteering (I've volunteer so far in archaeology projects, with an organisation promoting sustainable agricultural methods, in domestic aid, with children -including the elderly- with special needs, taught Spanish, worked with and for refugee organisations and as an assistant caregiver in a nursery), it is the best opportunity to mix with the locals, really experience the culture, and best of all; to help people. Excluding the opportunities that I will take with 'workaway', I have volunteered in the United States, Canada, Italy, Nicaragua, NYC, Greece and Japan. It is my dream to volunteer some more in China and Japan (as a history enthusiast, eastern history, culture and religion draws me in like a bee to honey- and of course I love manga and anime!), to volunteer with an eco-project (I am a very big green activist and nature lover), and really anywhere in the world to learn and especially to help anyone out in anyway I could.

I am a very mature, respectful, independent, responsible and hard-working person. I feel like I'm adapt to help in all the categories available from the 'workaway' choices (except help with computers), I have experience in all categories, from childcare to hard labour, as someone very active who loves working out, I do not shy away from physical labour in any way, in fact, I'm drawn to it!

I have a grand list of hobbies and interests that I actively do day in and day out. My hobbies stem from my interests, so my love for history, politics, literature, art, the environment and discovery created my hobbies of endlessly signing up and studying various university level history/political courses, writing political analysis articles, participating in various volunteering programs, reading, painting, learning new languages, watching documentaries, doing martial arts, painting, pottery, archaeological research and of course travelling!

I have many volunteering skills in qualities, stemming from the fact that I have numerous volunteering experience, both within and without Canada (USA-teaching Spanish, Nicaragua-working on a farm and building supplies, Greece-volunteer at refugee camps and elementary tutor on the island of Chios and Japan-assistant caregiver at nursery and volunteer at network for stray cats). Domestically, I have participated in an environmental and humanitarian awareness group and have volunteered at a nursing home.
Out from Canada, I am going to be volunteering at Peru within next month at an indigenous community. All these trips I plan on taking are part of my desire to discover the world and help in any way I can.

More precisely I have skills and experience in administration,cleaning (housekeeping), cooking, help with languages, gardening, painting, writing, tutoring, animal care, charity work, elderly care, in activism (environmental and social), maintenance, archaeological work and active work.

Academically wise, I have completed my secondary school, and I am in the process of doing part time studies within the fields of History, Politics and Religion. During my time off, not only have I volunteered and travelled, but I have made sure to continue educating myself. I am teaching myself Arabic and Mandarin. Also, I have 2 poems published and I am in the process of writing a book.

I hope you found my description interesting! I hope we get to meet face-to-face!
If you have any further inquiries, feel free to contact me, I am always available.

Have a brilliant day!