Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Skye Hogan and Jake Loughridge

Skye Hogan, 32 from Australia (couple)
Email: click here
Network: Australia
Present Country: Australia
Join Date: April 8, 2017
Last Updated: July 8, 2018
Last Signed In: July 26, 2018

Companion Ad:
Gday

We have recently returned from an amazing trip through Central and South America and are currently in Uki northern NSW looking for some travellers to help paint a wooden house! the house has amazing views of Wollumbin/Mt Warning and is a ten minute drive from Uki, 40 minute drive to Mullumbimby and Nimbin and one hour from the Gold Coast and heaps of great surfing beaches. The house has many books to read, instruments to play and chairs to sit on! We ask for 4 hours work a day in exchange for free accomodation and basic food supplies! Please get in touch via text on 0468 493 332!

Hope to hear from you soon

cheers

Jake



Next Destination(s):
Perth, Australia

Helper Description:
Hola,

We are a couple from Australia spending the year travelling through Central and south America. We are excited to learn Spanish and experience as much as possible along the way! When in Australia we are both interested in conservation and sustainable living practices.

[Jake]- I have worked as a land management officer on projects in remote Western Australia including, weeding, fencing, construction, operating machinery and participating in wildlife trapping and surveys. I have several years practical experience in bush regeneration and landscaping and have a well rounded skill set. I am a fast learner and enjoy “jumping in the deep end” and getting involved. This year I want to gain experience and knowledge in sustainable building practices, permaculture and putting together collaborative art projects. I have been surfing off and on for a few years now and hope to get barrelled long enough for me to be aware that it is happening and make it out!

In the future we hope to buy a nice bush block and build a sustainable house out of recycled materials with friends. I am very interested in art and community collaboration. Currently I have a project called APE ( art perception evolution) which I hope to add to and inspire people along the way to join In on! Have a look at www.dudesweetcanoe.com for some of the art thus far. Ten years ago I visited Mexico for a month or so and have wanted to come back to this part of the world ever since. Since then I have continued to travel internationally as well as within Australia and I have realised the importance of community and interaction with people as the highlights of any experience. I prefer to travel slow and be open to new possibilities and ideas along the way. I enjoying getting involved in projects and sharing my passion and knowledge.


Skye-I have a strong background in hospitality having worked in many, cafes, bars, hotels and restaurants. I enjoyed working in hospitality and the interactions with people it provided, as well as providing me with a varied skill set. After working in hospitality a long time I decided to follow one big passion of mine and began work in conservation and bush regeneration. While working in this industry I acquired skills in mass tree plantings, weed control, animal surveys and trapping, I also increased my knowledge of the importance of biodiversity and how everything is interconnected. Working outdoors is very grounding and I recommend it to anyone and everyone. I then moved on to working in early childhood with children 0-5 years old. I enjoyed learning about diversity within the early education system and exposed myself to a variety of teaching methods, working in variety of centres- from a centre in a remote community to a Montessori preschool. I went on to work with older children with disabilities at a primary school, helping them integrate into mainstream classrooms, helping them with comprehension, communication and social interaction. I have a dream to further my study when I return to Australia and enrol in Nursing. I would like to be able to work in small remote communities in Australia and around the world assisting in the delivery of emergency healthcare and training where current availability is inadequate.


I have always wanted to give to the environment and the community. I like learning new things and gaining new skills that I can use and share. I am determined to use my access to education as well as I can. I am very interested to gain some knowledge and experience in sustainable building, permaculture and cooking. We have a plan to buy a bush block and create our own sustainable lifestyle, and learning as much as we can whilst helping people achieve their goals will be invaluable experience to take home with us.

Before coming to Central America we were living on a property in a community that values very highly the benefits and productivity of a sustainable lifestyle. We had solar power, composting toilet, fruit trees that we maintained and harvested when ripe, and created a herb garden.
Although currently I do not have a huge knowledge base on permaculture practices, everything that I have been exposed to makes perfect sense on creating a lifestyle that is sustainable for a healthy future, for us,the next generation and the planet.
I enjoy cooking and have a keen interest to learn about local cuisines, fruit and vegetables and how to cook them. I would love to learn and practice making oils, breads, preserves and being exposed to new methods of preparation.
Jake and I are both on a mission to learn Spanish to improve our communication and interaction with hosts and people we meet on our travels. We are attending a language school, so hopefully by the time we meet you, we will have mastered the basics at the very least.
We are both interested in art- doing, observing and creative collaboration. Music- we both play instruments and enjoy sharing song, (although Jake is definitely the musician, but I enjoy joining in). Dancing- I love moving, it is great therapy for the body and mind as is yoga! Philosophy-sharing interesting conversation, new and old ideas, and also collaborating on community projects, whatever they may be.
We love exploring new landscapes, hiking, camping and generally being outdoors.
We are both hard working and hope to hear from you soon.

This is our first time doing a helpX profile, so any feedback is appreciated, and if there is anything else you want to know- please get in touch with us, via email or whatsapp # below.

skyehogan777@gmail.com
drongo_04@hotmail.com
Whatsapp- +61458765906

Salud