Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Love On Tobias

Love On Tobias, 53 from United States (female)
Email: click here
Network: International
Present Country: Panama
Join Date: May 6, 2011
Last Updated: November 14, 2017
Last Signed In: June 19, 2018

Companion Ad:
Since I am a fairly seasoned traveler and am taking my Latin America tour over the course of three years it is foreseeable that others may want to catch up to me if it is in their flow to trade tips and experiences, maybe travel together a bit.

Next Destination(s):
tip of the continent and back up to Ecuador. Documenting all
aspects of culture and life experiences is my first intention.

Helper Description:
Beginning late April 2017 I began my Epic Journey to the south of South America while blogging and sharing my adventures. This journey is expected to last 2 to 3 years.

As an independent anthropologist my intention is not only to document my journey through film, photos and writing but to simultaneously discover indigenous cultures, music, food and cooking, art, jewelry, other travelers, street performers, rainbow family, local cultures as well as unique or just regular people.

Join my already addicted Followers

My previous life was immersed in the Garden of Eden, a sustainable ecovillage and a 501(c)3 not-for-profit organization, near Dallas Ft. Worth, Texas USA. Our community was recently featured in an MTV episode titled "True Life: I Joined a Commune" which premiered December 2016 on television. For the past several years I have thrived in this community as the beloved head chef and lead organic gardener.

Precise communication, building good relationships, leadership skills, feeding the homeless, leading and managing workshops are some of the useful experiences I have been a part of while living closely with others in community.

While thriving at the Garden of Eden I have been put through Master Training, always setting high standards for myself and those around me. Taking responsibility for my experience, being impeccable with my word, honorable and maintaining always the highest degree of integrity is consistently what I strive for. Whining, blaming, and excuses are a waste of energy.

I have a Bachelors Degree in Cultural Anthropology (specializing in Latin America), with a double minor in Women's Studies and Spanish. Yo hablo espanol. Also, my expert seamstress skill began when I was a around 9 years old which later led to a double Associate degrees in Apparel Design and Technical Pattern Drafting. As a result I have many years in Technical Design Room experience as well as working out of my own home doing custom work, theater costume shops and developing my own lines.

As I make my way through Latin America I am looking for experiences that will put me in contact with the locals, especially women recovering from trauma and/or indigenous peoples. Harvesting experiences, immersion situations and meaningful interactions are what I am on the hunt for. Artisans, craftsmen, musicians, good cooks and gardeners are the types of people I am interested in working with. Show me how you cook your food, raise your children, celebrate holidays, create solutions for problems and how your life gives you satisfaction.

I want to dance with you, make music with you and laugh with you. My blog will document my new friends, new skills and new experiences.

Since I am a bit of a Renaissance woman, over the years I've honed a nice collection of skills.

intermediate Spanish
teach English and language arts
expert user and teacher of tarot cards
experienced classroom teacher (adults and children)
lecturer and public speaker

customer service related work
team management
business and people management

canning and preserving
sustainable solar dehydration
ALL phases of bread baking
cooking meats, vegetarian, juicing & raw
fire building and grilling
using rocket stoves
Vinegar and wine making

wild-crafting and plant identification
organic farming and permaculture gardening
raising egg and meat chickens
quail, ducks, etc
garden planning

lye soap making
candle making
jewelry making
expert seamstress, pattern maker and designer
weaving and natural dying (I really want to learn to spin)
making essential oils, salves, tinctures, ointments from fresh product

djembe drummer
drum circle participant
music lover
improvisational dancer

sleep full time in a hammock
lived for 6 weeks with indigenous in the jungles of Panama
taken 3 semesters of Spanish classes at La Universidad de Costa Rica
recovered from obesity and lost over 130 pounds

Alcohol is unimportant to me. Social drinking for me is fine on occasion and I don't care if you drink but being around people who drink every day, all day long can potentially create an uncomfortable situation. However, I am 420 friendly. If this makes you uncomfortable then we are likely not a good match. However, I am always honorable and respectful.