Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Joseph Harvan

Joseph Harvan, 47 from United States (male)
Email: click here
Network: Europe
Present Country: Hungary
Join Date: April 10, 2017
Last Updated: October 14, 2017
Last Signed In: April 16, 2018

Companion Ad:
I am not looking for a travel companion, nor have I given it any thought, but I am open to it for sure :)

Next Destination(s):
Currently I am in Budapest...where I am heading next? I would very
much like to know :)

Helper Description: name is Joseph. I am currently in Budapest, and it is my aim to stay here in Hungary, but who does as it pleases. I am 47 years old, the father of two amazing people, a daughter and a son that I miss so much, as they are in California. When I joined Helpx I was still in California as well, wondering how and when I would make it back here to Hungary. I first came here back in 2010 on the New Year's Eve of 2011, after which I returned three more times, staying months at a time. Simply put, I fell in love with Hungary...with all of it. I rode my bike everywhere, under the Hungary Sky, who was a constant companion. I am Czech by descent, but I thought surely I must have some Hungarian blood pulsing through my veins...I felt such a natural attachment here...such a pull. Now that I have returned to Hungary once again, after more than four years have passed, I feel not entirely the same. Perhaps the time has changed me a bit, or...could it be that life in Budapest is not like life in Szolnok or other smaller cities and towns...perhaps. Well now that I am here, my challenge is to make it so, that I could remain here. I have been seeking employment, but as I am a 'beginner' regarding the Hungarian language, and have only my native English, it has been most difficult to say the least. Regarding my expertise...there is no border. I have a lifetime of real work experience. To put it simply, my dad handed me a shovel as soon as I could walk. I am intelligent, organized, detail oriented, determined, self assured, straightforward, reasonable, considerate, fun, energetic, and very personable. I am passionate about people and life. I love the walk/hike/run, swim and bike. I am a perfectionist and a lover. I endeavor to balance the perfectionist, but as for the lover...this is me and it will not change. I need a place where I can breathe, be free, be happy and at peace.