help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Matin Raupp

Matin Raupp, 28 from Germany (male)
Email: click here
Network: Europe
Present Country: Germany
Join Date: March 15, 2020
Last Updated: May 24, 2020
Last Signed In: July 7, 2020

Companion Ad:
I need a friend that would help me learn german!

Next Destination(s):
I'm looking for a German speaking farm in the EU starting on June.
I'm currently close to Frankfurt.

Helper Description:
Hello.

I am currently in a town near Frankfurt mainly doing two things: learning German and designing a permaculture food forest for 1ha of family land. I'm half Indonesian and half German and is in the process of making a German ID and drivers licence here. I have a bachelors degree in Renewable Energy Engineering from UNSW (Australia) and my last job was as a project manager for an international renewable energy consultancy in Bangkok. I have studied and practised permaculture in the tropics extensively and I am currently studying permaculture for temperate climates. The permaculture that I know and practice is mostly based on "Permaculture: A Designers' Manual"(1988, by Bill Mollison).

I am looking for a farm that will help me re-learn German and teach me the names of plants and their functions. I am also very interested in small scale biochar production while simultaneously cooking and heating the home. Ideally I wish to find a place where I can stay for many months and really get to know the people that I'm working with. I wish to start around mid-June and stay at least for two months.

I have many skills and experiences with organic farming. I read my first book on permaculture at 13 years old. This is my first time being a helper on helpx, but I have been a host for a permaculture farm from 2015 to 2018. I can honestly say that I understand how difficult it can be to manage new people while running a farm and I have much respect for people that try to do this.

I enjoy looking after children and animals. In engineering, I have a talent for "troubleshooting" as well as finding low-cost solutions to increase energy efficiency. I really look forward to getting my hands dirty and meet gardeners and farmers. I have very few experiences with horses but they seem to like me and I have much respect for them. When it comes to bees I have dealt with them without a shirt on. I've had plenty of experience and am very confident with vermicomposting and working with goats, sheep, ducks and rabbits. In my free time I love listening to stand-up comedy on youtube. I'm not that good at making other people laugh but I do laugh a lot :) The same goes with music and spirituality. I do not know how to play music that well (maybe just a bit of guitar) and I do not know how to sit still and meditate but I love listening to great musicians and spiritual lectures.

My diet might sound very complicated but its actually very simple and cheap to make, especially on an organic farm. Because of my recent problems with leaky gut, I have to follow the "full GAPS diet" for a few months. It mostly consists of boiled bones and vegetables and plenty of animal fats and internal organs (like liver, lungs, kidneys!). I also need fermented foods like sauerkraut. I often find my diet eats up what most people thtow away, like when I boil the hard white core of cabbage or the damaged outer leaves. I can eat fruits, honey, nuts and cheese. I cannot eat potatoes and grains (no bread) and milk. I do not need to eat 3 times a day. Most of the time I skip breakfast and sometimes I just have one big meal per day. I don't like alliums (leek, onion, garlic, chives). I cannot have industrially processed foods and sugar and beer. If you want to learn more about this diet, which has been proven to cure autism and other learning disabilities, please search about the works of Dr. Natasha Campbell-McBride.

I consider the "4 to 5 hours of work" only as the real physical work, and any farm designing/discussions/calculations/research to be just a part of daily life and cultural exchange. I really like working on a place and I really do not like sightseeing or being a tourist/ traveler.

For more information, please feel free to contact me and ask many questions.