Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Maarten Van
Maarten Van, 24 from Netherlands (male)
Email: click here
Network: Europe
Present Country: Sweden
Join Date: December 13, 2011
Last Updated: July 24, 2018
Last Signed In: September 4, 2018

Companion Ad:


Next Destination(s):
South-West Germany

Helper Description:
Hi!

Iím from the Netherlands. I graduated from University of Utrecht in 2015 (law and economics). After graduation I spent 1,5 years bicycling from the Netherlands to Singapore, through Europe, the Middle East and Asia. I love the simple life on a bicycle and I am deeply touched by the kindness and generosity of strangers I have met in many corners of the world. I would like to sustain a simple lifestyle, close to nature and aware of the beauty of every day.

Apart from traveling by bicycle I like to run, walk, learn languages, try different types of food, cook, dance, get to know people, their lifestyle and beliefs, and share company with friends. You can wake me up for board games, card games, or a game of table tennis. I love nature, being outside, camping and learning new things.

I'm very eager to learn about gardening, permaculture, animal care, building, anything pertaining to food, hospitality industry and many more topics... I have gathered some skills in a few projects in Belgium and France: gardening, cooking for large groups and some construction work. I am eager to learn more and I can learn quickly. Other skills I will bring along:
I am fit and like to be busy.
I am open-minded, adventurous and a little bit crazy.
I am clean and tidy.
I can speak English and Dutch fluently, and I can understand a fair amount of German, French and Spanish.
I know quite a bit about bicycle mechanics.
I have travelled a lot and know about different cultures, religions and habits. I am flexible and can adapt myself well.

Lastly, I do not smoke (please, if you do smoke inside, let me know), I do not have a special diet (though I prefer to eat not a lot of meat), I have a driver's license and I'm happy without wifi and television. Maybe see you soon!


I am sorry I haven't gathered references yet. However, I am a member of several hospitality initiatives, and you can check my profile with references at: www.warmshowers.org/user/101318