Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Michaela Volkamer and Siert Luinstra

Michaela Volkamer, 29 from Australia (couple)
Email: click here
Network: Australia
Present Country: Australia
Join Date: July 14, 2017
Last Updated: March 21, 2018
Last Signed In: July 31, 2018

Companion Ad:


Next Destination(s):
Looking for a place in Perth, close to
public transport (have no car any
more). Willing to do all jobs, but
prefer both food and acco

Helper Description:
G'day!!

We are Michaela and Siert, a German/Dutch couple, traveling around Australia and looking for great experiences on our way.

Michaela is a trained office clerk and studied Tourism Management. However, after a semester studying in Finland, she fell in love with traveling. It changed her life. She backpacked through Sweden and Ireland, hitchhiked from Germany to Norway and did a half year internship in Italy for a canyoning company. In 2015, she went back to Italy again, this time working as a camping host for a big tour operator. This is where she met Siert...

Siert tried to become both a primary school teacher and a history teacher, but didn't finish his studies. For a few years he worked at the back office of a big telecom company, slowly trying to work his way up the ladder. The cubicle started to bore him, however, and he decide to throw his life around. After a few odd jobs working in factories and warehouses, he got hired as a campsite host for a big tour operator in Italy. This is where he met Michaela.

Together, we decided to keep on traveling. We worked as café all rounders in a ski resort in Scotland, did another 6 months in Italy (Siert again as campsite host, Michaela with the canyoning company) and went on a back packing holiday in Malaysia. In November 2016, we flew to Sydney, to start our new adventure Down Under.

With a Working Holiday Visa in our backpacks, we have combined our travels with picking fruit, building pallets and cleaning a school in an outback Aboriginal community so far. We signed up for HelpX to meet new people, learn new skills and get a taste of the real Ozzie lifestyle. In exchange, we'd love to help you out and share our experiences.