help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
Stephane Doucet

Stephane Doucet, 29 from Canada (male)
Email: click here
Network: Canada
Present Country: Canada
Join Date: August 21, 2018
Last Updated: March 25, 2020
Last Signed In: March 25, 2020

Companion Ad:
I will be traveling around BC, Canada over the 2020 season

Helper Description:
Hi everyone, my name is Stephane. I am interested in learning as much as I can in permaculture and off-grid living. I did a few woofing/Helpx in different countries but I am now interested in learning more about the ways in my own country. Soon I will be heading ou to BC to do the tree planting season so my goal goal is to explore the area afterward, and get some experience in different farms.

I have a few helpx and life experiences now. I started volunteering/wwoofing in Spain in a small off-grid goat farm. But it's really in California in a small off-grid permaculture farm where I've seen an alternative way of living and that changed my way of seeing a lot of things and made me eager to learn more.

In 2018, I worked in an organic vegetable farm (paid work) where they had a CSA program for 30 families and also sold at markets and local restaurants.

In Australia, I did 4 helpx experiences;
1-Healesville, Victoria: Permaculture Homestead including hens & ducks for eggs and soil fertilisation, guinnea pigs & sheep for lawn mowers, goats for their delicious milk and bees as pollinators and heaps of different fruits and vegs.

2-Bruny Island, Tasmania: Organic sheep farm set on a 500 acres land overlooking Antartica Ocean. Our task over there were mostly to tidy up the property and build a small garden and greenhouse for the owner.

3-Lorinna, Tasmania: Small isolated off-grid community in the mountains in which we helped building a cob house. We also learned a lot about fermentation. From there I started exploring this microscopic world.

4- Sandfly, Tasmania: A more conventional farm where we helpx preparing the land because they had just bought the property.

I am currently looking to find an off-grid community in Canada. I am curious to see how they build, how they became self-sustainable and how they live. In the mean time, I am open to do any kind of work and learn new skills or perfect those I already have!