Important information: As of the 25 May 2018, New EU Privacy and Data Protection legislation (GDPR) has come into effect. As this site uses cookies and collects information from users please make sure you understand and agree to these terms before continuing to use the site. Read more: GDPR Privacy and Data compliance.

Click here to remove this notice and confirm that you understand your new data and privacy rights.

help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions   Posters  
el Peregrino
Premier Helper

Rob la Lau (el Peregrino), 45 from Netherlands (male)
Email: (hidden)
Network: Europe
Present Country: France
Join Date: October 29, 2014
Last Updated: November 24, 2015
Last Log In: March 7, 2016

In 2014 I walked from The Hague in the Netherlands to Fisterra in Spain, 3,000 kilometers in 5 months. After my Camino I decided not to return to Holland, but to move on. I have since worked in a pilgrim's hostel in Spain, on a gte complex in France, in construction in France, and helping out a lady in France after she had a severe car accident.

Before I started my pilgrimage, I was an IT freelance for 15 years, specialized in all things internet, from developing websites and software, to systems and network administration; I have also been involved in the creation and maintenance of online communities. As a freelance I have served very large bussinesses (KLM, TNO, Telegraaf) and very small organizations (cultural foundations).
I spent a large part of my free time working in a bistro and at festivals, because my social side felt a bit neglected in the IT world. At these festivals I have tended bars, worked as a location manager, cashier, stage hand, etcetara.
I also worked as a volunteer in a psychiatric hospital one day a week for one and a half years, cooking with/for around 10 patients. I'm quite a good cook.
Before I became an IT freelance, I had many different jobs in production, logistics, transport and maintenance. I have quite some experience with large fork lifts, and some experience with shovels.
Too make the career chaos complete, I have posed as a photo model a few times, and appeared as an extra in some tv series and a tv movie.
And currently, as said, I travel through Europe (on foot), working for food and lodging.

I'm a native dutch speaker, am quite fluent in english, speak french and german pretty well, and speak a little spanish.
I have driving licences for car and motorcycle, and have been skiing since I was a little boy.

I am, as we say in dutch, 'recht van lijf en leden', which means I'm healthy and strong enough. My motto, especially after my 3,000 kilometer Camino, is 'I can do anything!'.

Usually I get on with children and animals very well.

I'd prefer to find work in France or Spain, but would consider other European countries as well. It would be great if the work would be related to the 'Camino de Santiago', but that is not a must.
During my walk I have discovered that I really love nature, so I would like to spend time outside. After 15 years of IT, I wouldn't mind doing some computer work, but I wouldn't want to be behind a computer whole days.

And on top of all that: I think I'm quite a nice guy. :-)

Last but not least, I should also mention that, after my pilgrimage, I have adopted a donkey. I hope that one day we will make a long walk together, but currently we're still training. Anyway: if I'm going to work for you, I will also need a field for my donkey, and, unless you have a trailer to come pick us up, I will need some time to get there.

(Browsing through this site, I feel that I should also state that I smoke sometimes, I'm not a vegetarian, and I do enjoy a glass of wine.)

References from Hosts:
You need to be logged in to see any references received.

Host Reviews Written:
You need to be logged in to see any reviews written.

Copyright © 2001 - 2018, HelpX, All Rights Reserved
contact :: disclaimer :: terms of use :: visas