help exchange   Helper Profile
Home   About   FAQ's   Testimonials   Feedback   Insurance   Companions  
Anthony and Emma
Premier Helpers
Anthony Manrique (Anthony), 30 from United Kingdom (couple)
Emma Stevens, 31 from United Kingdom
Email: (hidden)
Web: www.uncertaintiesblog.wordpress.com
Network: Europe
Present Country: United Kingdom
Join Date: June 1, 2013
Last Updated: April 19, 2016
Last Log In: April 10, 2018

Next Destination(s): Wales.


A few years ago we decided to live the life we'd been thinking, dreaming and talking about for years. So we set off on a trip to South America, travelling without money from the north of Colombia to the south of Chile and back again, without money and volunteering on farms along the way.

This changed our lives!

We came to realise through volunteering that we want to work towards having our own small farm in the future. After a year and a half working and saving we're looking to continue volunteering and learning about how to grow in the UK, and to continue our informal apprenticeship in permaculture, forest gardening, natural farming and natural construction.

What we can offer is a strong work ethic and a deep-rooted desire to learn, and to share what knowledge and abilities we have. We've already learned an incredible variety of new skills through volunteering and are keen to soak up some more.

Emma has always loved producing art and will give any style a try. She would love to contribute artistically if that would be desirable for your project.

We are both slackliners (which is a little like tight-rope walking) and often carry our slacklines with us so that we can teach other people.

We travel with a tent, so if you need space for other volunteers then we are happy with just a nice patch of earth. We also have our own stove.

If you would like to know anything more from us, please just drop a message and we'll get in touch.

- SKILLS -

We are gradually learning more and more things that might well mean we can help you. We've worked on off-the-grid farms in cloud forests and in luxury Caribbean resorts, we've helped to spruce up ex drug-cartel mansions and have done building with cob. We've built houses for hens, bees, tools and humans, and a whole lot more.

We also grow oyster mushrooms, and would be more than happy to teach you to do the same, or do it for you.

Here's a list of some of the things we've helped out with and can do. It's not exhaustive, but should give you an idea of what we can do (or could, it's been a while now, but I'm sure we'll get back into the flow of things quickly enough).

- Built a cob house
- Helped build a terrace out of giant bamboo
- Contributed to and were left in charge of a natural farm (in the style of Masanobu Fukuoka)
- Designed and built a grey water system
- Helped so construct a wood burning oven from cob
- Chainsaw work (not massive fans of them though)
- Put up fences (barbed wire and living)
- Built a bee house
- Designed and built herb/vegetable gardens
- Built a chicken house
- Carried a lot of heavy stuff
- Cooked for a LOT of people
- Helped to construct a palm roof
- Fed, mucked out and cared for lots of animals
- Felled bamboo and planted it too
- Constructed worm farms
- Worked with various natural fertilizers
- Seeded and weeded
- Baked bread
- Cleared areas with machetes
- Planned, built and organised a music festival

Reading that back makes us sound way more skilled than we are! But we did do all of that stuff and picked most of it up pretty quickly, and I'm sure we will again, too.

Most of this stuff we've learned from people like you, and we learn quickly. Also, we are learning for our own future and want to learn to do things properly, so we'll be working on your projects as if they are our own.







References from Hosts:
You need to be logged in to see any references received.


Host Reviews Written:
You need to be logged in to see any reviews written.


Copyright © 2001 - 2020, HelpX, All Rights Reserved
contact :: disclaimer :: terms of use :: visas :: GDPR